My Tagline is Killing My Blog

I think I’ve finally figured out why Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please has not propelled me into blogging superstardom, despite years of writing raucously funny posts about France and swinging and bugs (oh, wait, that post is not really about insects).

It’s my tag line.  It’s killing my blog.

I figured this out after taking a look at the writing prompts over at the Daily Post Zero to Hero: 30 Days to a Better Blog. Here’s the prompt from Friday, January 2, 2013 (day 2 of the challenge):

 
zero-to-hero-1
 
Day 2: What’s your name?

We make snap judgements about websites all the time — how many times have you disregarded a site because it wasn’t immediately clear what it was about? Today, you’ll name your blog and expand on that with an “About this Blog” widget, drawing on the introductory post you published yesterday. Let no reader click away to the next site because they were unsure of your focus!

I was explaining all this to my husband, about how the name of my blog and my tag line were probably turning off readers and how I really needed an “About this Blog” widget and then, look out,

Why do you ask?  Did you stop reading it???
Yes, I’m still writing that blog.

there would be no stopping Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, PleaseI had worked myself up into a lather while pacing the floor and making wild hand gestures as I spoke when he pulled earbuds out of his ears and said, “Sorry, I’m listening to a lecture.  What did you say?”

This grievance was multiplied a thousandfold after I repeated what I had been saying and he then asked, “You’re still writing that blog?”

Realizing I’d receive no help from the man with whom I had made the disastrous (or so it seemed at the moment) decision to procreate with, I sat down and tried to think of a new tagline that would make readers “immediately clear” about Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.

Here’s what I came up with:

  1. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.  Humor.  Or, at least, I think it’s funny.
  2. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.  Humor and Sex.  Not really that much sex.  You perverts will be disappointed.
  3. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.  Not really about plumbing.  You plumbers will be disappointed.
  4. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.  Blogging and Swearing.
  5. Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please.  Humor and Sex.  Mixing them together with embarrassing results since 2012.

If you’ve read this far and you remain disappointed, check out P Simpson Plumbing and Heating.

Royalty free stock photos including the images in this post can be found at Stock.XCHNG.  The Zero to Hero logo was snatched from the Daily Post @ wordpress.com page.

 
 

23 thoughts on “My Tagline is Killing My Blog

  1. This month’s NaBloPoMo theme is Pressure, and I’ve been thinking a lot about the pressure bloggers feel to achieve a big following, and how that impacts what we choose to blog about. More posts on this topic to come this month.

  2. This explains so much about my blog as well. Since my tagline is actually my name, do you suppose I could sue my parents? Or — even better– my in-laws? (Since we know my complete failure to achieve blogoriety can’t possibly have anything to do with my scintillating and exquisite prose. Duh.)

    • I actually love my blog name, but not enough to pay it.

      I dunno–I think your blog name is kind of mysterious and intriguing. I bet a lot of folks wonder, “Fifty four and a half what? Cookies? Pencils? I guess I better read this blog to find out.”

  3. The other problem is when you start out a blog with a particular intention (mine was to write about economics and the body) and then you get sidetracked into a completely different subject that has nothing to do with your name.

    If you sort out this dilemma, let us all know.

    • I was thinking about your blog this weekend while I was commiserating with another blogger about lack of comments/Likes on blog posts–your blog comments section is usually on fire.

      I think your name still works for you–you’re still writing about injustice and unfairness of biology (although in the context of male-female relationships). At least, I think that’s what you’re writing about. As you know, I’m not well versed in the topics you take on.

      Regardless, it’s a great name.

  4. I thought I was being intentionally vague so that I could write about whatever the hell I felt like. I’ve managed to disappoint environmentalists, yogis and Christians (not sure about that connection) on a regular basis. Personally, I like #2 and #5 on your list.

    • I try to write a focused blog, but I get called out regularly by people telling me my blog is not about sex. Ok, that’s a fair criticism, I guess, but there are a whole bunch of bloggers out their tagging their posts “humor” and they’re not funny. At least when I tag a post “sex” there’s something dirty going on in the post.

      Anyway, I think it’s kind of interesting to hear the stories of how writers named their blogs.

  5. The only thing I would change in your name is to drop the “please.” Why be namby-pamby about it? I still like my blog name for its non-sequitur qualities, though having “teen” in the title does attract some disturbing search engine queries.

  6. Your tagline somewhat suggests you’re famous: “Everything you always wanted to know about me…” I think people would read that and think, “Who the hell is this person?”

    Personally, I don’t think the tagline is killing your blog. It’s keeping you in line with your cult-like status, which is what we should be striving for anyway, right? Who needs a large audience anyway?

  7. I’d go with: Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please. Nudie pictures here. That way you get a lot of traffic and a chance to read some hilarious comments from having pissed off everyone alive. :-)

Talk to me! This blog is not a monologue.

