Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please Holiday Gift Guide 2013: Tickets to Becoming Dr. Ruth

1.152679

Today, for the second installment of the Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please 2013 Holiday Gift Guide (you can find out what to buy that neighbor who fed your cat while you were on vacation in the first post), may I suggest tickets to the new off-Broadway show, Becoming Dr. Ruth?  Here’s a description of the play from the show’s page on www.broadway.com:

Everyone knows Dr. Ruth from her career as a pioneering radio and television sex therapist. Few, however, know the incredible journey that preceded it. From fleeing the Nazis in the Kindertransport and joining the Haganah in Jerusalem as a scout and sniper, to her struggles to succeed as a single mother coming to America, Becoming Dr. Ruth is filled with humor, honesty and life-affirming spirit of Karola Ruth Siegel, the girl who became “Dr. Ruth.”

Long time readers of this blog are aware that Dr. Ruth shows up in these pages with an unusual, and alarming, frequency.  I’ve written about her before in the post Super Bowl XLVII Sex Tips and again in the post Orgasms and Acting, so you can imagine my terror delight when I was traveling through New York City a few weeks ago and I came upon a billboard advertising the play.

I guess Dr. Ruth lived an interesting enough life to warrant having a play produced off-Broadway about her, what with the escaping the Nazis thing, and the Jewish paramilitary thing, but mostly (admit it!) for that radio and television thing she did as an old lady talking about sex.

And I think that’s where I’ve gone wrong in my blogging career.  I started writing about sex way too young.  I imagine if I waited until I was eighty–no, ninety–before I started blogging about sex I’d probably get a lot more traffic on this blog.  I mean, there’s probably a whole bunch of people out there who want to hear a ninety year old woman (or man) reminisce about losing her virginity, or having her first orgasm, or all the places she’s had sex in public, right?

You can catch performances of Becoming Dr. Ruth at the West Side Theater through the end of the year (and beyond!).  For schedule and ticket information, click here.

The Becoming Dr. Ruth poster is taken from the play’s media page.

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please Holiday Gift Guide 2013: Tickets to Becoming Dr. Ruth

  1. Karen November 26, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

    I realize this post is disgustingly ageist and I really should want to hear about the sexual exploits of octogenarians and nonagenerians as much as I want to hear about the sex that vigintigenarians and trigintagenerians have, but, really, I need a drink first.

  2. bodycrimes November 26, 2013 at 12:52 pm Reply

    I’m up for hearing ageing people talking about what they did way back when, because it was probably mind blowing. I used to work with a woman who was young during the 60s and 70s and she lamented how boring and prudish her children were – she’d done all sorts of things the mere thought of which filled her children with horror.

    • Karen November 26, 2013 at 5:24 pm Reply

      I think the thought of parents having any sort of sex fills all children with horror . . . ;)

  3. Gus Sanchez November 26, 2013 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Listening to Dr. Ruth on Sunday nights was something of a ritual with me when I was a teenager. I think it was because of the perverse thrill I was getting from hearing someone, ANYONE, talk about sex on the radio, even if it was a little old Jewish lady.

    • Karen November 26, 2013 at 5:36 pm Reply

      I never really listened to it, but I remember the show Loveline (with Dr. Drew, before he went off to do that trainwreck of a show, Celebrity Rehab).

      Gotta love the image of a teenage boy getting his sexual education through a radio, though ;)

      • Gus Sanchez November 27, 2013 at 11:02 am Reply

        I also remember Loveline. My favorite was always hearing Adam Carolla just take the piss out of everything Dr. Drew was saying, as if he knew then what a fraud he was.

  4. […] far you’ve seen some odd posts, like my strange fascination with Dr. Ruth Westheimer (“Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please Holiday Gift Guide 2013: Tickets to Becoming Dr. Ruth“), and converting lesbians (“How Many New Yorkers Voted for Bill DiBlasio Because He […]

Talk to me! This blog is not a monologue.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,233 other followers

